

# VIRGINIA JUVENILE JUSTICE ASSOCIATION ANNUAL BUSINESS MEETING

Great Wolf Lodge, Williamsburg, Virginia November 10, 2022

# **MINUTES**

## I. OPENING REMARKS

In conjunction with the 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Fall Institute, President Samantha Higgins officially opened the business meeting at 11:47 AM. She introduced herself and all other members of the Board of Directors including state officers, committee chairs, Beth Stinnett and Lewis Wright (past presidents), and thanked DJJ administration for their presence and support of the conference. President Higgins also recognized and extended gratitude to all veterans in attendance.

### II. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES OF THE 2021 ANNUAL MEETING

President Higgins reminded all that the agenda, previous meeting minutes, and other business meeting items were available online for review. Ellen Patterson, Northern District Chair, motioned, and Katherine Grimm, Tidewater District Chair, seconded to waive the reading of the minutes from the 2021 annual business meeting. Dakota Tomlin, Southwest District Chair, moved, with a second by Ellen Patterson, Northern District Chair, to dispense with the formal reading of the minutes and approve them as submitted to the membership. The motion carried without opposition.

# III. APPROVAL OF THE TREASURER'S REPORT

Association Treasurer Kevin Heller presented the financial reports regarding the association. He provided the following account balances: Institute Account is \$32,822.14, General Account is \$6,953.12, and Scholarship Account is \$1491.62. Tax filings were granted an extension to 11/15/22 and will be completed within the week. Martha Carroll, Valley District made a motion to approve the Treasurer's Report as presented, seconded by Kathy Jones, Capital District. The motion carried unopposed.

#### IV. MEMBERSHIP REPORT

President Higgins introduced the co-chairs of membership, Natasha Cheek and Beth Stinnett. Natasha reported that our membership is currently 227, including 26 life members, 4 charter members, and provided a breakdown of membership by district. Beth Stinnett provided a few words regarding upcoming events to increase membership and provide networking opportunities. Beth also requested members submit "Colleagues in the Spotlight" and watch for event announcements on the website.

## V. **COMMITTEE REPORTS**

Vice President Kevin Meeks reported no updates on Legislation and Child Advocacy.

Lewis Wright, Chair of Governance & Bylaws, reported no updates.

Toni Craig, Institute Chair, extended gratitude to those who assisted with the planning and execution of the current 2022 event. Toni expressed appreciation to the vendors / sponsor for their ongoing financial support of VJJA.

#### **VI. ASSOCIATION BUSINESS**

- A. Old Business None
- B. New Business None

#### VII. AWARDS, SCHOLARSHIPS, AND RECOGNITIONS PRESENTION

## A. Presentation of Meritorious Awards

President Higgins introduced Katherine Farmer, Chair of Awards and Recognition. Katherine explained the nomination and selection process for awards.

The Meritorious Service Award in the Area of Residential Services was awarded to Shaun Parker, Residential Program Manager, VADJJ Division of Residential Services.

The Meritorious Service Award in the Area of Court Services was awarded to Ajeenah Duncan, Probation Officer, 4<sup>th</sup> CSU – Norfolk.

**The Meritorious Service Award in the Area of Community Services** was awarded to Michele Banalett, Probation Officer, 12<sup>th</sup> CSU – Chesterfield, Michele was not present.

**The Meritorious Service Award in the Area of Administration** was awarded to Jennifer Osbourne, Probation Supervisor, 26<sup>th</sup> CSU – Winchester.

## **B.** Remembrances and Recognitions

Beth Stinnett announced those who have been added to the memorial plaque this year including Marc Moore, Bruce "Uncle Buck" Mowry, Diane Shelton, and William "Bill" Kelly.

## C. Lifetime Membership Awards

President Higgins presented the Lifetime Membership Award to Tina Casper, current Web-Based Infrastructure Chair, Northern District, and recent retiree.

# D. Professional Development Scholarship Presentations

Kathy Jones, Chair of Scholarships, awarded the *Robert E. Shepherd and Rodney C. Hubbard Scholarships* to Tammy Blackwell Lee and David Hall. Ms. Jones encouraged everyone to nominate youth for the next Youth Scholarship.

## VIII. **DISTRICT GIVEAWAYS**

All district chairs including Katherine Grimm, Ellen Patterson, Dakota Tomlin, Rachel Kancherla, Christa Galleo, and Matthew Bond were in attendance to present district gift baskets. Names were drawn and winners were announced.

#### IX. ADJOURN

At 12:33 PM, Ellen Patterson moved to adjourn. Natasha Cheek seconded the motion. The motion carried without opposition.

The next Annual Business Meeting of the Association will be held in conjunction with the 47<sup>th</sup> Fall Juvenile Justice Institute to be held in November 2023 at a location to be determined.

Respectfully submitted by,

Amanda Moseley Sheppard

Amanda Moseley Sheppard VJJA State Secretary

To be approved at the 2023 Annual Business Meeting